Services > Public Works


The Public Works Department is comprised of seven (7) divisions:  Administration, Building Services, Capital Projects and Design, Fleet, Forestry, Street and Utility (Water and Sewer).  The Department maintains, operates, repairs, designs, constructs/reconstructs and/or inspects the Village’s streets, sidewalks, street lights, signage, traffic controls, sanitary/storm sewer collector and conveyance system, water distribution system, parkways, parkway trees, municipal buildings, various municipal parks, fountains, cemetery, commuter railroad station and parking lots as well as municipal fleet.

The department’s budget, composed of seven divisions and two fund sources, is guided by policies that value maintaining the lowest possible cost consistent with the delivery of satisfactory services.

To learn more about the seven divisions of the Public Works Department, click on one of the links at the top right-hand corner of this page.

Director of Public Works - Mark Janeck
77 W. Hintz Road 
PHONE: (847) 279 - 6900 
FAX: (847) 279 - 6420 


Hours of Operation: Monday thru Friday, 7:00 am to 3:30 pm After Hours Contact: Call (847) 459-2632



Untitled 1 Decrease font sizeIncrease font size   Back to Home PageContact Us   
Property Search

Learn more about your community and services around your property.

Enter an address to start:

                Wheeling Calendar

The Village of Wheeling
2 Community Boulevard
Wheeling, IL 60090
Mon ~ Fri    7am ~ 5pm
Ph: (847) 459-2600
Fax: (847) 459-9692

Click Here for a complete department directory

Anonymous Hot Line
Code Enforcement Complaints
(847) 459-CODE